Behind Me*

fbafineyoungman

I know that! It’s the same with every lesson. Something I know but sort of forgot.

— Roy in A Fine Young Man

I’m like that. Remember in a previous Behind Me post, I talked about getting caught up in the number of sales and forgetting the reason for writing? Thank goodness for reminders.

Was doing some promotion for this book. Giving away copies to a good home. Of course the goal is to up the ranking, but also find somebody who really wants to read it.

Got an e-mail that took my breath away. The sender volunteers as a juvenile arbitrator for the legal system. There are a number of possession and/or consumption alcohol cases. (My book is about the aftermath of teenage alcohol abuse.) A diversionary program hopes offenders will learn from their mistakes. The sender wanted to read my book to see if it could be used as an option for juveniles to read and do a report on.

I’m stunned. It’s an honor to be considered.

For me, the glory of writing is touching someone with words.

 

(*A reminder I need to remember. Reposting today because the copy was claimed.)

 

About John Northcutt Young

I write. Remember making-up stories from spelling words in the fifth grade. A journalism degree followed. Thanks for looking.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment