Behind Me

“Better to write for yourself and have no public, than to write for the public and have no self.” Cyril Connolly

This is a quote I often ponder. How do I keep my writing from being just another needle in the haystack? (An obvious answer is to stop writing clichés.)

I understand the concept of writing for an audience from journalism school, but does that mean selling out? I don’t think whore writing is a literary term.

You can’t live life without being true to yourself so why should writing be different?

About John Northcutt Young

I write. Remember making-up stories from spelling words in the fifth grade. A journalism degree followed. Thanks for looking.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Behind Me

  1. John Northcutt Young says:

    Reblogged this on Brevity.

  2. Jane says:

    It’s something I have struggled with. I enjoy writing pieces that give others pleasure, but sometimes it does feel like a compromise when you have to make certain decisions based on your audience. When you find readers that enjoy your authentic self, you both benefit. I enjoy sharing experiences with others. Perhaps it’s a matter of experimenting until you find a comfortable balance. I suppose people are motivated to write for a variety of reasons and will derive satisfaction in differing ways.

  3. John Northcutt Young says:

    Jane, I like how you said that. Hopefully I will always be experimenting because if my writing ever becomes fill-in-the-blank that’s the time to stop. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

