Behind ME

My writing is all over the place. Hopefully not in content, but in style and subject matter. I don’t want to play it safe. I want my writing to take chances. There’s the risk of failure, but that’s how it is in life.

The main character of an upcoming novel is a foul-mouthed curmudgeon. There are some four letter words and phrases my mother would skip over, but I felt they were necessary for the story. A risk I hoped wasn’t sensationalized.

I thought about a penname for different genres, then decided no. My writing is a part of me, whether it’s from a man’s or woman’s view, verse or prose, black or red print, G or X rated. For me, the downside of any art is being typecast. The actor who has to play the same role, the singer who has to sing the same kind of music, or the writer who has to write the same book over and over. Which is ironic because art is the freedom of expression.

Of course I may be wrong. But it’s a risk I’m willing to take.

ca2a2207-7d37-42dd-bb74-b41b425770c0

About John Northcutt Young

I write. Remember making-up stories from spelling words in the fifth grade. A journalism degree followed. Thanks for looking.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

